Woodloch Pines *REFASHION*

Wherever you are right now close your eyes keep your eyes open but imagine they are closed. Relax the muscles in your face. Take a nice slow deep breath. Follow the sounds of my words inside your head. You’re in a beautiful forest full of chirping birds and scampering chipmunks. There is a glorious deep blue lake stretched for miles before you. Everywhere you look, activities: archery, water balloon fights, kayaking, karaoke, Scattergories! Really put yourself in a world as if the 1987 film”Dirty Dancing” took place in Heaven and there weren’t any botched abortions or thieving old folks only very friendly middle aged women and old men in pants with lobsters on them. CONGRATULATIONS… you’ve just been to Woodloch Pines in your mind.

Here I am frolicking with the local wildlife!

Here I am frolicking with the local wildlife!

*I am in no way compensated for my fantastic view of Woodloch Pines, though man I wish I was because I tell everyone who will listen.

A few years ago for our annual girls trip my friends Ali and Michelle and I visited Woodloch Pines in the Pocono Mountains of Pennsylvania (just like “Dirty Dancing”, I know!). Surprisingly, it was all Michelle’s idea as she’d heard some great reviews from a bunch of friends and family members. Anywho, we get up there and I am on cloud 9 let me tell you: everyone is super nice, the food was great, I had a schedule of activities before me, life couldn’t be better. My friends, not so excited. In fact, rather terrified. Where I saw Patrick Swayze and Baby they saw themselves as Wendy and Doc, and I was Jack Nicholson. To each his own.

To-may-to, to-mah-to

To-may-to, to-mah-to

Back to business, the point of this story is that I bought a super cool deer head shirt there to commemorate the fantastic times I had. This shirt was pretty cool looking already but it was a little too snug in the neckline. I wanted a shirt that matched my feelings on Woodloch, so I thought I’d refashion this bad boy!

Before. Pretty cool but not amazingly cool. Tepid, perhaps.

Before. Pretty cool but not amazingly cool. Tepid, perhaps.

I’d recently seen a tutorial on how to chop up your old t-shirts and make them awesome again. Mostly, these shirts reminded me of an overambitious cheerleader mom from the south… but those bitches are always ON-POINT so I was ready for that look. I started off by removing the sleeves from the t-shirt and cutting across the chest, right under the neckline, to make a nice little rectangle.

During. So stressful! I couldn't bare to ruin such a fantastic shirt.

During. So stressful! I couldn’t bare to ruin such a fantastic shirt.

Next, I folded over the top of the front flap about 1 inch down and the top of the back flap 1 inch down. Remember in my first blog, avid reader, when I mentioned that I’m super lazy? Yeah well it usually comes into play when sewing is involved. You should TOTALLY pin the flaps down so you can whiz your sewing machine or your nimble hands evenly across the 1 inch line. I didn’t have any pins and my sewing machine is at my mom’s house a whole 3 miles away, so I used my eagle eyes and hawk like talons to sew these bitches down. Then I took some sweet ribbon I found in my grandma’s old sewing kit (thanks Dad and Lois!) and fed it through. You can either tie it in a bow if you’re really digging the southern glam athlete look or sew the ends together like I did.

TA DA

TA DA

Last step? Try it on and impress all your friends and potential lovers. Let me tell ya, works like a charm. I’m so glad I didn’t ruin my favorite t-shirt but in fact made it better!

Look how happy my face is. That's a face that's smelled fresh Poconos air and tasted Woodloch Pines corn bread.

Look how happy my face is. That’s a face that’s smelled fresh Poconos air and tasted Woodloch Pines corn bread.

Oh, what's that? You'd like to see another angle of the shirt AND my sweet guns? No problem.

Oh, what’s that? You’d like to see another angle of the shirt AND my sweet guns? No problem.

There are two lessons today, ladies and gents:

  1. Try that Pinterest/YouTube/whatever tutorial you’ve always wanted to do. If it sucks you can make a fail post about it and everyone will laugh and relate to you. If it is awesome you will feel super crafty and cool for at least a full day.
  2. If you cherish life and adventure, give Woodloch Pines a shot. Take me with you, though technically… I’ve never left.
I'm going to live here forever!

I’m going to live here forever!

Here we have some rules let us lay them down,

Cat

Oh man, if that isn’t the best song from a 2001 film about ogres and inner beauty I don’t know what is.

One thought on “Woodloch Pines *REFASHION*

Leave a Reply

