I’m sorrraayy….*sobs* *regrets threatening husband with gun*

This is me right now. I'm... I'm so sorry.

This is me right now. I’m… I’m so sorry.

Guys, I’ve been so busy that I haven’t posted in forever. My most heartfelt apologies, I’ve missed you. But you know what I’ve been so busy doing (besides watching Cheers and working a lot)? FINDING AWESOME THINGS.

What he said.

What he said.

First of all, let me confess something… I don’t miss Diane on “Cheers”. She was totes the worst. Team Rebecca, 100%! And who knew Frasier was so funny?! Friends SHMIENDS, Cheers is the greatest American TV show.

This image came up when searching for Diane vs. Rebecca. The man who made this wrote a blog comparing Diane to George Washington and Rebecca to John Adams. It's not surprisingly spot on and hilarious. Click the picture to read it!

This image came up when searching for Diane vs. Rebecca. The man who made this wrote a blog comparing Diane to George Washington and Rebecca to John Adams. It’s not surprisingly spot on and hilarious. Click the picture to read it!

Back to 2015 (boooooo!). Let’s start with my thrifty and successful Halloween. You guys should know by now that I’m quite the planner. I knew in July that I wanted to be an Ewok (Wicket specifically) for my Star Wars lovin’ boyfriend’s birthday Halloween party. Nordstrom Rack had a huge online clearance sale where I scored 4 hideous brown stuffed animal lookin’ infinity scarves. They were $4 each for a total of $16! I ripped the seams on three of them and made arm bands and leg warmers by sewing elastic into the tops of each piece.

One ripped open infinity scarf. Not so infinity anymore, bitch.

One ripped open infinity scarf. Not so infinity anymore, bitch.

I folded the top down about an inch, sewed it down, and then threaded a piece of elastic through so it would stay snuggly on my arms and legs.

I folded the top down about an inch, sewed it down, and then threaded a piece of elastic through so it would stay snuggly on my arms and legs.

Seeeee?! Snuggly. Strong. Sensual. Sassafras.

Seeeee?! Snuggly. Strong. Sensual. Sassafras.

I was impressed with these leg warmers, so was Bob. I ended up shortening them so they came right up to above the knee instead of right under the hoo ha.

I was impressed with these leg warmers and so was Bob. I ended up shortening them so they came up right above my knee instead of right under my hoo ha.

Then I bought an orange scarf on Amazon and some face paint at CVS – $8 total. I made tiny little Ewok ears out of cardboard and infinity scarf scraps and sewed them quite literally into my hair through the scarf – like a beautiful weave straight outta Endor! I borrowed Anthony’s bad ass walking stick and called it a day (a FRI-day to be exact). Good times were had by all.

Just call me Warwick Davis, cuz I played Wickett like a PRO. Or because you just want to call me Warwick Davis.

Just call me Warwick Davis, cuz I played Wicket like a PRO. Or because you just want to call me Warwick Davis.

Well that’s enough excitement for one month… 2 days later on November 1st I hit up a seemingly boring yard sale a few blocks from our place. I was tricked though, tricked again! I started seeing some really nice clothes on racks in the back of this lady’s driveway – where one normally does not say they found great things. I found a really cool formal sweatshirt – yeaaaaa, thas right – from J. Crew and a great Banana Republic button down shirt. $4. Go team!

No iron? Count me in.

No ironing? Count me in.

That open zipper is the back, the collar is a nice soft crepe.

That open zipper is the back, the collar is a nice soft crepe. I’m a crepe, I’m a sweatshirt. What the hell am I doing here?

Then yesterday I went out for my Quarterly Friends Dinner with the ladies in Astoria. I was an entire hour early, so I hit up a thrift store on Ditmars Boulevard. It’s sort of like Sunset Boulevard but with more Greek people and dollar stores, and less crazy old actresses.

I. STRUCK. GOLD.

Yes, just like this but better.

Yes, just like this but better.

I was looking for a Christmas-y lookin’ plaid shirt and oh boy did I find one! $4. Sold.

Call me Kris Kringle.

Call me Claus, Santa Claus.

Found a really pretty floral print (my favorite) silk sleeveless shirt from J. Crew. Great for work. $4. Deal.

Ooooo Aaaaaah

Oooooh Aaaaaah

Also a gorgeous Lily Pulitzer thin floral sweater. Great colors! They usually retail well over my price range, between about $75 and $150. This puppy was $5! It’s a little big so I may ruche the sides if I’m feeling saucy and get a little pep talk from my sewing spirit guide, and fellow “Cat”.

I feel so tropical!

I feel so tropical!

And finally… the pièce de résistance (slightly inappropriate because my find was Italian, and not French, but the Italians don’t have a good saying for “THE GREATEST FIND EVER”)… a Missoni sweater! Not Missoni for Target, Missoni. Uber expensive Italian designer known for his zig zaggy print, usually rayon, knits. I can’t afford Missoni on the clearance rack with an extra 20% off at Saks, so this was super exciting for me. These puppies retail starting at $300 and go up, way up, from there. I’ll get a nicer picture when wearing this as a real outfit one day, but for now just bask in its glory. BASK!

Praise the lord and pass the ammunition. I'm in love!

Hallelujah, I’m in love!

Guys, what a great few weeks of finds. My advice to you is two-fold: 1. Always check out a yard sale. It may look shitty from the outside but you never know what they’ll have! 2. Comb through enough thrift stores and you’re bound to find your holy grail. If you want to check this place out it’s called something along the lines of “This is a Thrift Store” and it’s at 3120 Ditmars Boulevard in Astoria.

What are you going to find in here?

What are you going to find in here?

What are some of your greatest finds?? Besides my blog of course.

Praise the Lord and pass the ammunition,

Cat

11 thoughts on “I’m sorrraayy….*sobs* *regrets threatening husband with gun*

  1. Pingback: I’m sorrraayy….*sobs* *regrets threatening husband with gun* | What Cat Dragged In

Leave a Reply

